LondonCrime

The Burning Men, Steve Parker. Paperback

The Burning Men, Steve Parker
The Burning Men

A MAN IS BURNT AT THE STAKE IN A LONDON PARK. HIS SMOULDERING CORPSE IS A MESSAGE OF THE MOST VIOLENT KIND.
The victim is Davey Caine. He is the heir to the criminal empire created by his father, William ‘Billy’ Caine. Billy is a notorious and violent gangster who controls South East London. But he’s not the man he used to be and the sharks smell blood in the water.
Detectives Ray Paterson and Johnny Clocks must find the killer before Billy extracts his own brand of justice. They are drawn ever deeper into London’s underworld.
The streets explode into violence and the body count rises. Men are shot and burned alive in a tit-for-tat power struggle between rival gangs.
Detectives Ray Paterson and Johnny Clocks find themselves trying to control men of extreme viciousness. Men who have no fear of the law and its consequences and who are unafraid to kill anyone who stands in their way — including police detectives.
Paterson is offered the chance to stop the conflict dead in its tracks. If he ignores it, the mayhem continues. If he takes it, there will be a price to pay.

What he doesn’t know is that the price will come with hidden and devastating consequences.

ON THE STREETS OF LONDON, A SIMMERING GANG WAR IS ABOUT TO ERUPT WITH PATERSON AND CLOCKS CAUGHT RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE.

This is the third in a series of action-packed, edge-of-your-seat crime thrillers, with an ending that will have your heart in your mouth.
Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Martina Cole.
What readers are saying about THE BURNING MEN
"It is a real rollercoaster of a read. I could not put this book down. I loved it." Peggy
“A must read for all crime thriller fans.” Viv
“A fast-moving action-packed thriller which will keep you enthralled from page one.”
“Another gripping, fast-paced and twisted caper for the most unorthodox police duo in UK fiction.” Donna
“Loved the book, Clocks makes me laugh out loud.” Aileen

THE DETECTIVES
Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is a young and (thanks to family money) wealthy womaniser, separated from his model wife and tipped to be the youngest ever commissioner of police. He knows he’s weak when it comes to practical policing and struggles to find a place among his peers, desperate to be a good policeman and not just a 'climber'.
Detective Inspector Johnny Clocks is a foul-mouthed, working-class officer. He grew up surrounded by rogues and villains to become a first-class thief taker with the Met police. However, his childish attitude has short-circuited his career and he spends his days antagonising as many people as he can.

THE AUTHOR
Steve Parker is a retired police officer who served for 20 years in numerous high-profiles squads.

THE SETTING
Bermondsey is an area of London nestled on the banks of the River Thames. It once had a reputation for housing more armed robbers, murderers and career criminals than anywhere else in the country. Now one of the most upmarket places to live and work in London, it has all but severed itself from its working-class roots. Home to the iconic Tower Bridge and crammed with expensive apartments, art galleries, fancy restaurants and famous residents. But for the police, those who truly know, Bermondsey never lost its roots . . . or its reputation.

Buy Now

LondonCrimeSteve Parker
A Word from the Author: Steve Parker

I was born in Camberwell, South East London and raised in Peckham. I was one of those kids that learned to read very early thanks to a steady diet of comic books -Beano, Dandy etc. and have never stopped reading since. I read anything I can get my hands on. When I was a teenager, I discovered Ed McBain’s 87th Precinct stories and devoured them all and it was those books that lit a fire for crime fiction.
At the age of twenty-one I joined the Metropolitan Police where I served in the Southwark and Bermondsey areas of London, so it felt natural for me to set my stories in Bermondsey. I was eventually retired out, injured.
A couple of years ago I got the chance to take redundancy from the job I was at, grabbed it with both hands, downsized and buggered off to the south-coast with my long-suffering wife. Thankfully, I’ve been blessed with a complete lack of DIY skills and so I was legitimately able to get away with swanning around the house doing bugger all, all day long. Finding myself with plenty of spare time and a deep desire to never work for anyone again, I gave myself permission to go back to writing and do it seriously. Since then things have been going very well indeed for my two protagonists, Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson and Detective Inspector Johnny Clocks.

I got myself onto Twitter and whilst I don’t post that often it has brought me into contact with some really great people – London Crime being chief among them and certainly the most responsive and active. Jim’s done (and is still doing) a fantastic job at collating and presenting so much useful information for anybody interested in London crime through his website, and I can only see it going from strength to strength. Thanks to his site, I now know of even more fantastic crime writers whose books I shall read, and I look forward to getting to know them.




Follow Steve Parker on Twitter
Here