LondonCrime

THE LOST CHILDREN, Steve Parker. Paperback

The Lost Children
THE LOST CHILDREN

A MAN SHOT DEAD IN THE STREET. BUT WHAT THE POLICE FIND NEARBY IS FAR WORSE.
An elderly African man is found dead in the street, shot through the head. The killing has the hallmarks of a professional assassin. Dumped in a waste bin next to the dead man is the dismembered torso of a child. On his first day back at work, disgraced Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson finds himself teamed up again with newly promoted Detective Inspector Johnny Clocks. They must hunt down a ruthless killer with connections that go far beyond anything they’ve ever encountered before. within days they know who committed the murders and why, but are left reeling when they are ordered by the government to release the child’s killers. FINDING THE KILLERS WASN’T THE HARD PART. BRINGING THEM TO JUSTICE IS. This is the second in a series of action-packed, edge-of-your-seat crime thrillers, with an ending that will have your heart in your mouth. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Martina Cole. What readers are saying about THE LOST CHILDREN “A really good thriller to keep you on the edge of your seat.” Barbara “I was up until 2am as I couldn’t read it quick enough.” Carole “The differences between the two detectives works so well ... they are so much alike ... but yet are miles apart in others” Linda Strong “I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. I was hooked right from the start.” Sue “A great energetic read.” Michele TWO DETECTIVES WHO HATE EVERYTHING ABOUT EACH OTHER MUST WORK TOGETHER. Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is a young and (thanks to family money) wealthy womaniser, separated from his model wife and tipped to be the youngest ever commissioner of police. He knows he’s weak when it comes to practical policing and struggles to find a place among his peers, desperate to be a good policeman and not just a 'climber'. Detective Inspector Johnny Clocks is a foul-mouthed, working-class officer. He grew up surrounded by rogues and villains to become a first-class thief taker with the Met police. However, his childish attitude has short-circuited his career and he spends his days antagonising as many people as he can. THE AUTHOR:
Steve Parker is a retired police officer who served for 20 years in numerous high-profiles squads.
THE SETTING:
Bermondsey is an area of London nestled on the banks of the River Thames. It once had a reputation for housing more armed robbers, murderers and career criminals than anywhere else in the country. Now one of the most upmarket places to live and work in London, it has all but severed itself from its working-class roots. Home to the iconic Tower Bridge and crammed with expensive apartments, art galleries, fancy restaurants and famous residents. But for the police, those who truly know, Bermondsey never lost its roots . . . or its reputation.

Buy Now

LondonCrimeSteve Parker
A Word from the Author: Steve Parker

I was born in Camberwell, South East London and raised in Peckham. I was one of those kids that learned to read very early thanks to a steady diet of comic books -Beano, Dandy etc. and have never stopped reading since. I read anything I can get my hands on. When I was a teenager, I discovered Ed McBain’s 87th Precinct stories and devoured them all and it was those books that lit a fire for crime fiction.
At the age of twenty-one I joined the Metropolitan Police where I served in the Southwark and Bermondsey areas of London, so it felt natural for me to set my stories in Bermondsey. I was eventually retired out, injured.
A couple of years ago I got the chance to take redundancy from the job I was at, grabbed it with both hands, downsized and buggered off to the south-coast with my long-suffering wife. Thankfully, I’ve been blessed with a complete lack of DIY skills and so I was legitimately able to get away with swanning around the house doing bugger all, all day long. Finding myself with plenty of spare time and a deep desire to never work for anyone again, I gave myself permission to go back to writing and do it seriously. Since then things have been going very well indeed for my two protagonists, Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson and Detective Inspector Johnny Clocks.

I got myself onto Twitter and whilst I don’t post that often it has brought me into contact with some really great people – London Crime being chief among them and certainly the most responsive and active. Jim’s done (and is still doing) a fantastic job at collating and presenting so much useful information for anybody interested in London crime through his website, and I can only see it going from strength to strength. Thanks to his site, I now know of even more fantastic crime writers whose books I shall read, and I look forward to getting to know them.




Follow Steve Parker on Twitter
Here