LondonCrime

THEIR LAST WORDS. Steve Parker. Paperback

Their last words
THEIR LAST WORDS. Paperback

A VICTIM. A MUTILATED BODY. A SINGLE WORD.
A young woman is found dead on the streets of London. Her throat slashed, her body mutilated, and one word carved into her flesh: “DON’T.” Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is assigned to the case. Young, handsome, and from a wealthy background, he’s tipped for the top. He joins a team based out of Bermondsey, South London. It’s meant to be a stepping stone to his next promotion, but this case will threaten to bring down his career and everything he thought he knew about policing. Paterson is put in charge of the dead girl's investigation and quickly discovers he must rely on his friend and mentor, Detective Sergeant Dave Jordan to guide him through. THEN ANOTHER BODY IS DISCOVERED. ANOTHER WORD CUT INTO THE VICTIM’S CHEST. The police realise they may have a depraved serial killer on their hands. The murderer is trying to send them a message carved in his victims’ bodies. But who’s the message really for? How many more must die? Detective Paterson may be the only man who can stop this vile killer . . . if he can survive long enough. This is the first in a series of action-packed, edge-of-your-seat crime thrillers, with an ending that will have your heart in your mouth. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Martina Cole. PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A HEAVILY REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “THE SKY IS CRYING.” What readers are saying about THEIR LAST WORDS “There is also a totally unexpected twist that leaves you gasping with shock.” Maggie “Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.” Nerys “A fast-paced, at times almost heart-stopping mystery. I couldn’t put it down.” Barbara “The end was brilliant.” Carole “I cannot recommend this book highly enough a true one-sitting read.” Lesley TWO DETECTIVES WHO HATE EVERYTHING ABOUT EACH OTHER MUST WORK TOGETHER. Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson is a young and (thanks to family money) wealthy womaniser, separated from his model wife and tipped to be the youngest ever commissioner of police. He knows he’s weak when it comes to practical policing and struggles to find a place among his peers, desperate to be a good policeman and not just a 'climber'. Detective Sergeant Johnny Clocks is a foul-mouthed, working-class officer. He grew up surrounded by rogues and villains to become a first-class thief taker with the Met police. However, his childish attitude has short-circuited his career and he spends his days antagonising as many people as he can. Detective Sergeant Dave Jordan is an old-school copper who trusts his instincts but relies on evidence. He is typical in that his marriage has broken down and he's been unable to form a relationship since. THE AUTHOR,Steve Parker is a retired police officer who served for 20 years in numerous high-profiles squads. THE SETTING:
Bermondsey is an area of London nestled on the banks of the River Thames. It once had a reputation for housing more armed robbers, murderers and career criminals than anywhere else in the country. Now one of the most upmarket places to live and work in London, it has all but severed itself from its working-class roots. Home to the iconic Tower Bridge and crammed with expensive apartments, art galleries, fancy restaurants and famous residents. But for the police, those who truly know, Bermondsey never lost its roots . . . or its reputation.

Buy Now

LondonCrimeSteve Parker
A Word from the Author: Steve Parker

I was born in Camberwell, South East London and raised in Peckham. I was one of those kids that learned to read very early thanks to a steady diet of comic books -Beano, Dandy etc. and have never stopped reading since. I read anything I can get my hands on. When I was a teenager, I discovered Ed McBain’s 87th Precinct stories and devoured them all and it was those books that lit a fire for crime fiction.
At the age of twenty-one I joined the Metropolitan Police where I served in the Southwark and Bermondsey areas of London, so it felt natural for me to set my stories in Bermondsey. I was eventually retired out, injured.
A couple of years ago I got the chance to take redundancy from the job I was at, grabbed it with both hands, downsized and buggered off to the south-coast with my long-suffering wife. Thankfully, I’ve been blessed with a complete lack of DIY skills and so I was legitimately able to get away with swanning around the house doing bugger all, all day long. Finding myself with plenty of spare time and a deep desire to never work for anyone again, I gave myself permission to go back to writing and do it seriously. Since then things have been going very well indeed for my two protagonists, Detective Superintendent Ray Paterson and Detective Inspector Johnny Clocks.

I got myself onto Twitter and whilst I don’t post that often it has brought me into contact with some really great people – London Crime being chief among them and certainly the most responsive and active. Jim’s done (and is still doing) a fantastic job at collating and presenting so much useful information for anybody interested in London crime through his website, and I can only see it going from strength to strength. Thanks to his site, I now know of even more fantastic crime writers whose books I shall read, and I look forward to getting to know them.




Follow Steve Parker on Twitter
Here